Problem

    • No Black Studies curriculum for CCS K-12
    • No Black Studies online course for CCS students (Grades 6-12)
    • CCS students not consistently learning Black history
    • Severe lack of Black teachers in CCS
    • CCS teaching staff not reflective of CCS student demographics

Solution

  1. Hire more Black teachers
  2. Provide incentives for Black teachers to work in CCS
  3. Establish relationships with Historically Black Colleges & Universities
  4. Reshape Black Studies online curriculum using Edgenuity (for Grades K-5)
  5. Adopt Black Studies online curriculum using Apex Learning (for Grades 6-12)
  6. Purchase African American History: A Journey of Liberation

Watch & Learn

Community Call for Black Studies – Ms. Ella Coleman

Columbus Black History – Stories That Should Be Known

Dr. Hasan Kwame Jeffries – Confronting Hard History

The 1619 Project – Nikole Hannah-Jones

CCS Students Should Know Local Legend Granville T. Woods

Hometown Hero Granville T. Woods – Elementary Clip

African American History: A Journey of Liberation

NC District Denies Mandatory Black Studies

Dr. Hasan Kwame Jeffries (Ohio State Univ. Professor)

7 Things You Can Do

Make Your Voice Heard

  1. Call CCS at 614-365-5000
  2. Contact CCS School Board members
  3. Contact CCS Superintendent
  4. Contact CCS Diversity Coordinator
  5. Text ‘IfBlackLivesMatterinCCS.com to your friends
  6. Share on Social Media
  7. Ask representatives to make a public statement that clearly calls for the implementation of a Black Studies curriculum and the hiring of more Black teachers in Columbus City Schools. CEA

Black Studies & Black Teachers are Essential

Contact CCS

Email or Call 614-365-5000

CCS Board Members

Jennifer Adair, President

jadair1@columbus.k12.oh.us

Re-Elected: January 2020
Current Term Expires: December 31, 2023

614-365-5790

Ramona R. Reyes, Vice President

ramona_reyes13@yahoo.com

Re-Elected: January 2017
Term Expires: December 31, 2021

614-986-7214

Dr. Tina D. Pierce

tpierce@columbus.k12.oh.us

Elected: January 2020
Term Expires: December 31, 2023

614-365-7905

Michael Cole

mcole@columbus.k12.oh.us

Continuation of Term
Term Expires: December 31, 2021

614-604-8871

Eric S. Brown

ebrown@columbus.k12.oh.us

Re-Elected: January 2020
Term Expires: December 31, 2023

614-477-3528

Carol Beckerle

cbeckerle5782@columbus.k12.oh.us

Elected:  January 2020
Term Expires: December 31, 2023

614-365-7905

James Ragland

jragland1@columbus.k12.oh.us

Re-Elected: January 2020
Current Term Expires: December 31, 2023

614-365-5790

CCS Leadership

Dr. Talisa Dixon, Superintendent/CEO

Dr. Dionne A. Blue, Chief Equity Officer

Alyse Clark, Executive Director of Curriculum & Instruction

Share on Social Media

Click Images to Share